National Academic Council

National Academic Council (NAC) is steering organ of the Institute and consists of 25-30 prominent scholars and experts to ensure socio-politico-religious representation. NAC is responsible for overseeing that the Institute is generally playing its role in the light of its vision, for approving the annual research program, and reviewing its implementation. NAC meets at least once a year for reviewing the policies and progress of its current projects.
Current National Academic Council was reconstituted in 2014 and shall hold office till 2016.

Khurshid Ahmad
Professor Khurshid Ahmad is a renowned scholar, economist and Islamic activist. He is the founder chair of the Institute …….read more

Adnan Sarwar
Dr. Adnan Sarwar is Chairman of International Relations Department in the University of Peshawer, NWFP, Pakistan. Having his doctoral thesis…….read more

Akram Zaki
Akram Zaki is former Senator and Chairman of Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and distinguished career diplomat. He served as Pakistan…….read more

Amanullah Khan
Amanullah Khan is a seasoned businessman and business analyst. He is ex-President of Rawalpindi Chambers of Commerce and …….read more

Anis Ahmed
Professor Dr. Anis Ahmed is vice chairman of the Institute. He is a social scientist of international repute.…….read more

Khalid Iqbal
Khalid Iqbal is a former Assistant Chief of Air Staff of Pakistan Air Force. During his air force stint he commanded two squadrons, …….read more

Fasihuddin is former chief economist of Planning Commission of Pakistan. He has also held the positions of Advisor to Finance Minister…….read more

Hasan Sohaib Murad
Dr. Hasan Sohaib Murad is Rector of University of Management and Technology (UMT) and Chairman of Association of Management …….read more

Mirza Hamid Hasan
Mirza Hamid Hasan is a distinguished former civil servant. He has served as federal secretary in the ministry of water and power, statistics division, ministry of finance; as additional secretary,……. read more

M. Riyazul Haque
M. Riyazul Haque is a former civil servant who is credited with over 45 years of experience in Pakistan public service and international financial institutions…… read more

Rustam Shah Mohmand
Rustam Shah Mohmand is specialist of Afghanistan and Central Asian affairs and a renowned security analyst. He has served as … more

Saadia Abbasi
Saadia Abbasi is Barrister at Law and Member Senate of Pakistan. Having received her education from world renowned educational…….read more

Shamshad Ahmad Khan
Shamshad Ahmad Khan is former ambassador and foreign secretary of Pakistan. He carries a distinguished public service…read more

Maulana Zahid-ur-Rashdi is a leading scholar of Islam and principal of a major religious education institution in Gujranwala, Punjab … more

Qibla Ayaz
Dr. Qibla Ayaz is the Dean of Faculty of Islamic and Oriental Studies, University of Peshawar. He has held several top academic positions in the past as well, including Acting Vice Chancellor, University of Peshawar, Dean, Faculty of Islamic Studies & Arabic…….read more


General (retd) Ehsan-ul-Haq is a former chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee(JCSC) of Pakistan. After his retirement, in 2007, General (retd) Ehsan has been engaged in number of corporate, intellectual and humanitarian activities. …….read more


Khalid Rahman
Khalid Rahman is one of the pioneers of the Institute. Initially he served as Director and later assumed position of Director General …….read more

Ahmer Bilal Soofi
Ahmer Bilal Soofi is a senior lawyer and Pakistan’s former federal law minister. He did his graduation from Government College, Lahore and his LLM …….read more

Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman
Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman is the current chairman of Ruet-e-Hilal Committee, Pakistan and is considered among the top religious scholars of the country,  …….read more

Saeed Ahmad Qureshi
Saeed Ahmad Qureshi retired as vice chairman, Planning Commission of Pakistan in 1994. Earlier he also served in several key government positions  …….read more

Sarah Safdar
Prof. Dr. Sarah Safdar is a member of Public Service Commission of Pakistan in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. In the past, she has served in several key academic positions including professor and dean …….read more

Javeid Iqbal
Prof. Dr. Javeid Iqbal is a sitting vice chancellor of the University of Balochistan. Earlier, he has also served as dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Hamdard University, Karachi  …….read more

Zahoor Ahmad Swati
Dr. Zahoor Ahmad Swati is the serving vice chancellor of the University of Agriculture, Peshawar. Earlier he has served the university for over three decades in the roles of dean …….read more